to Home Page
to Home Page



The District of Columbia’s Wards 7 and 8 are collectively called East of the River or East Washington. More recently the area has been dubbed “Ward 15” because of the opportunity for collaborations among businesses, community leaders, and government leaders.

Key tenets for the District’s community growth and economic development goals—namely revitalizing neighborhood commercial centers, improving residents’ job skills and access to jobs and careers, and fostering the success of locally owned small business—when matched with land availability, the District’s planning policies, and metropolitan regional growth trends make Wards 7 and 8 the ideal leads for innovative and dynamic solutions to the District’s goals. City reports indicate that nearly $7 billion in public and private projects are in various stages of planning or construction in Wards 7 and 8!

East Washington Region Snapshot

1. Far Northeast and Southeast Area Element, May 2006 Draft Ward 7 Comprehensive Plan, Table FNS-1, Page 7

2. Anacostia Highlands Area Element, May 2006 Draft Ward 8 Comprehensive Plan, Table AH-1, Page 8


Washington DC Economic Partnership’s 2009 Neighborhood Profiles

Office of Planning
Neighborhood and Revitalization Plans
Anacostia Waterfront Initiative Framework Plan

Anacostia Waterfront - Realizing the Vision


Home | History & Vision | Program Initiatives | Community Information | Contact Us

Washington East Foundation © 2008 - 2017 Privacy Policy